My epiphany moment

PLEASE SEND TO A TEACHER WHO MIGHT BE UNSURE OR NOT CARE MUCH.

Don’t forget your local pollies.

Aussie Friends of Treehorn

encouraging adults to think sensitively, to care for kids, to make wise choices….with their hearts in gear, their pens active and their votes available .

My Epiphany Moment

11849317_1160804897279886_907336653_nI used to blanket test all the kids in the school as we principals were obliged to do–each month or period or term.

I was a real test-freak….I went further than most… did weekly tests in Arithmetic and English Grammar almost constantly. Thinking that they were diagnostic, I’d even make judgements about the results. Silly stuff.

Crying at test time

One day a brilliant little Year 2 only got 3 out of 5 for my Notation test. She started to cry as this little girl is doing.

Mail AttachmentThrough her tears, while the scores were being recorded, she started to read a book that had been set for Year 10. High school !? What’s going on? Something stupid, for sure!

Image result for epiphany moment

I started to think. I didn’t take on this job to use curriculum material to make kids cry!
images
Am I evaluating or teaching or damaging an outstanding intellect? WHAT am I doing?

The answer was obvious. I walked out of the classroom and never gave another such test. I decided to sort out my thoughts as to the differences between terms like that.

When the mass assault on children’s intellect began in 2008, with the child-abusive, morally bankrupt, corporate NAPLAN photo-source-unkown-forwarded-from-charles-a-e-brandt_thumbtesting, here was a serious mission to be undertaken on behalf of kids. Parents and teachers had been silenced, principals hoodwinked. Children were the victims. Serious stuff.

The teaching and learning world that I had envisioned had been sidetracked. My dreams of unleashed school learning and achieving had been shattered.

Professional ethics had disappeared, most adults didn’t care, teacher opinion was ignored and parents were deceived. Kids needed the voices of professional school educators, but the power of corporate greed has been overwhelming.

Schooling-ignorant data miners have now had long enough. Their damage to Australia’s cognitive capital has been monumental. This school generation does not deserve it.

How do I feel now after all these years? Sad. Very, very sad. Still optimistic.

And…..at times…..

_____________________________________________________
Phil Cullen 41 Cominan Avenue Banora Point Australia 2486 07 5524 6443
cphilcullen@bigpond.com
http://primaryschooling.net      http://qldprimaryprincipals.wordpress.com
Leave a Reply

