Letter to withdraw your child from NAPLAN

Reposted from Boycott Naplan Coalition

 

Letter to withdraw your child from NAPLAN

 

 For your information as a parent:

Since you are the legal guardian of your child, you can state that you don’t want your child to be tested, just as you can state you don’t want your child to go swimming or to participate in any other event. You do not have to give a reason. Below is a form letter you can use.

——-

Dear Teacher and Principal,

I have discussed NAPLAN with my child and I have decided that he/she will not be doing the NAPLAN test. I have decided to exercise my legal right as guardian.

I am very concerned about the negative impact of NAPLAN testing on our education system and have no interest in creating any unnecessary anxiety for my daughter/son; especially when NAPLAN serves no learning purpose.

While I realise that I am under no obligation to present any reasons for my child’s withdrawal, I do think that it is worth explaining. I know that you both, as teacher and principal, have the best interest of my daughter/son in mind – that is not in question. NAPLAN testing, however, does not improve learning nor does it provide any meaningful data for teachers. (See www.boycottliteracy.net orwww.literacyeducators.com.au/naplan.)  Instead, NAPLAN results are being used by government to force schools into competing for students and resources. As a result, NAPLAN testing is narrowing the curriculum, and is often leading to a lot of test practice rather than productive learning in classrooms.

I  sincerely hope that parents, teachers and principals can come together on this issue and reject NAPLAN.

As the parent (or legal guardian) of the following children, I request that they are withdrawn from all NAPLAN testing.

Name of child               Year level

……………………………………   ……………..

……………………………………   ……………..

Yours sincerely,

……………………………………..
(parent / guardian)

……………………………………..

Leave a Reply

